Last updated: March 19. 2014 10:01AM - 1238 Views
By Will Sanders

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

By Will E Sanders


TROY — The ballot is solidified for the upcoming May 6 primary election and early voting will start at the beginning of April at the Miami County Board of Elections.

Early voting in Miami County and across the state begins April 1.

The primary election will feature key party races for the U.S. House of Representatives, the state senate, and the state house of representatives, in addition to two county offices, one for county commissioner and the other for common pleas court judge.

Incumbent Miami County Commissioner John “Bud” O’Brien will face off against fellow Republican Gregory Simmons. Democrat challenger David Fisher is running unopposed in the primary race and will go head-to-head with the Republican that wins the primary in the Nov. 4 general election.

With Miami County Common Pleas Court Judge Robert Lindeman previously announcing he will not be seeking another term, two female Republicans will be facing off for the position. The winner between Stacy Wall and Jeannine Pratt, both Republicans, will become the next judge since no Democrat is challenging for the elected judicial office.

Several unopposed races, all incumbent Republicans, will appear on the ballot, consisting of incumbent Tony Kendell for Miami County Prosecutor, Matthew Gearhardt for Miami County Auditor, and W. McGregor Dixon Jr. for Miami County Juvenile and Probate Judge.

Meanwhile, voters throughout the county will be weighing in on races of state and national interest.

In the election for the U.S. House of Representatives race for the 8th District, incumbent Republican Rep. John Boehner will be facing challengers Eric Gurr, J.D. Winteregg, and Matthew Ashworth. Democrat challengers Matthew Guyette and Tom Poetter will also appear on the ballot, and James Condit Jr. is running for the Constitution party.

Incumbent Republican Bill Beagle is being challenged by Julie Busby for the Ohio Senate seat for the 5th District. Democrats Dolores Gillis, Tom Matthew and Joe Lacey will be running against one another.

Republicans Stephen Huffman, Joe LeMaster and Mark Williams are all running for the Ohio House of Representatives 80th District seat that is currently held by Dr. Richard Adams of Troy. Adams is not seeking another term. Democrat Jonathan Michalski is running unopposed in the primary and will face the Republican winner in the general election in November.

In an elections directive sent out earlier this year, Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted set uniform early voting hours for in-person absentee voting. The hours are: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., April 1 through April 4; 8 a.m. to 9 p.m., April 7; 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., April 8 through April 11; 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., April 14 through May 2; and 8 a.m. to noon on May 3.

“Any voter of the county may request and vote an absent voter’s ballot (or a provisional ballot beginning April 8) in person during these regular business hours,” Husted wrote in the directive, which was issued in January. “Any voter in line at the end of these regular business hours must be permitted to make their application and vote.”

Early voting at those times and dates will take place at the offices of the Miami County Board of Elections, which is located on the first floor of the Miami County Courthouse in Troy.

The voter registration deadline for new voters is 9 p.m. on April 7 for the May 6 primary election.

The general election this year will take place on Nov. 4.

Will E Sanders may be reached at 773-2721 or on Twitter @TheDailyCall.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Troy Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com