Newton announces NHS inductees

PLEASANT HILL — Newton High School held its 55th annual National Honor Society induction ceremony on Feb. 26 in the cafeteria. Aliya Stine, presiden, welcomed all in attendance, followed by an explanation of the Four Cornerstones of membership: Leadership by Morgan Miller; Service by Jessica Weeks, publicist; Character by Kaitlyn Filbrun, Secretary; and Scholarship by Brock Jamison, treasurer.

Guest speaker for the ceremony was Kirk Kadel who gave advice and direction to the student body regarding applying and maintaining the four pillars of the National Honor Society to each student’s life. Closing remarks were by principal Danielle Davis. Taylor Stevens is Newton’s adviser for the National Honor Society.

The following sophomore students were tapped for induction into the National Honor Society: Macy Flanary, Treanna Lavy, Tatum McBride, Paiton Miller, and Kacie Tackett. Also, juniors; Emily McGlynn and Jack Yoder, as well as senior students; Vivian Brauer and Zara Zeller were tapped for induction.

Current membership includes senior members: Maria Evers, Kaitlyn Filbrun, Emmi Fisher, Sierra Flanary, Brock Jamison, Atley King, Treyton Lavy, Madison Mollette, Rose Studebaker and Jessica Weeks.

Junior class members: Grant Bayer, Milan Bess (Vice President), Holly Bucholtz, Michaela Drieling, Morgan Miller and Aliya Stine.

comments powered by Disqus